Date: Monday, November 16 2015

District Council Ordinary Elections (Chinese: 區議會選舉) are held in Hong Kong every four years. The last election was held in 2011 and the 2015 District Council Ordinary Election will be held on November 22.  A total of 431 members, one for each of the 431 constituencies in the 18 districts (up from 405 in 2011) will be elected.  This will be the first time Hong Kong voters going to the poll since 2014's Occupy protests. 

A number of APSS graduates and students are nominated as candidates for this election:

Cheung Chun-pong (Hing-man, Eastern District) – Social Work
Chiu Shi-shun (Hung Hom Bay, Kowloon City District) – Social Policy and Administration
Siu Ka-yi (Tung Wah, Central and Western District) – MA Social Policy and Social Development
Wong Ho Ming (Lek-yuen, Sha-tin District) – Social Policy and Administration

Dr Cheng Chung-tai, a Teaching Fellow in the APSS, is also one of the candidates for Lok Tsui of Tuen Mun District in this election.