Professional Affiliation

Awards and Patents

Representative Publications

  1. S. L. Chua, Y. Liu, Y. Li, H. J. Ting, G. S. Kohli, Z. Cai, P. Suwanchaikasem, K. K. K. Goh, S. P. Ng, T. Tolker-Nielsen, L. Yang and M. Givskov (2017). "Reduced intracellular c-di-GMP content increases expression of quorum sensing-regulated genes inPseudomonas aeruginosa". Front. Cell. Infect. Microbiol. Doi:
  2. J. Fong, M. Yuan, T. Jakobsen, K. T. Mortensen, M. M. Salido, S. L. Chua, L. Yang, C-H. Tan, T. Nielsen and M. Givskov (2017). "Disulfide bond-containing ajoene analogs as novel quorum sensing inhibitors of Pseudomonas aeruginosa."  Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 60(1): 215-227.
  3. S. L. Chua, Y. Ding, Y. Liu, Z. Cai, J. Zhou, S. Swarup, D. I. Drautz-Moses, S. C. Schuster, S. Kjelleberg, M. Givskov, L. Yang. (2016) Reactive oxygen species drive evolution of pro-biofilm variants in pathogens by modulating cyclic-di-GMP levels. Open Biology 6(11): 160162.
  4. S. L. Chua, J. K. Yam, P. Hao, M. M. Salido, S. K. Sze, M. Givskov, T, Tolker-Nielsen, L. Yang. (2016) Selective proteome labelling and eradication of antibiotic-tolerant bacterial populations in pathogenic biofilms. Nature Commun 7: 10750
  5. S. Yu, T. Su, H. Wu, S. Liu, D. Wang, T. Zhao, Z. Jin, W. Du, M. J. Zhu, S. L. Chua, L. Yang, D. Zhu, L. Gu and L. Z. Ma (2015). "PslG, a self-produced glycosyl hydrolase, triggers biofilm disassembly by disrupting exopolysaccharide matrix." Cell Research25(12): 1352-1367.
  6. S. L. Chua, L. D. Hultqvist, M. Yuan, M. Rybtke, T. E. Nielsen, M. Givskov, T. Tolker-Nielsen and L. Yang (2015). "In vitro and in vivo generation and characterization of Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilm-dispersed cells via c-di-GMP manipulation." Nat Protoc 10(8): 1165-118.
  7. S. L. Chua, K. Sivakumar, M. Rybtke, M. Yuan, J. B. Andersen, T. E. Nielsen, M. Givskov, T. Tolker-Nielsen, B. Cao, S. Kjelleberg and L. Yang (2015). "C-di-GMP regulates Pseudomonas aeruginosa stress response to tellurite during both planktonic and biofilm modes of growth." Sci Rep 5: 10052.
  8. S. L. Chua, Y. Liu, J. K. Yam, Y. Chen, R. M. Vejborg, B. G. Tan, S. Kjelleberg, T. Tolker-Nielsen, M. Givskov and L. Yang (2014). "Dispersed cells represent a distinct stage in the transition from bacterial biofilm to planktonic lifestyles." Nat Commun 5: 4462.
  9. S. L. Chua, S. Y. Tan, M. T. Rybtke, Y. Chen, S. A. Rice, S. Kjelleberg, T. Tolker-Nielsen, L. Yang and M. Givskov (2013). "Bis-(3'-5')-cyclic dimeric GMP regulates antimicrobial peptide resistance in Pseudomonas aeruginosa." Antimicrob Agents Chemother57(5): 2066-2075.
  10. S. Y. Tan, S. L. Chua, Y. Chen, S. A. Rice, S. Kjelleberg, T. E. Nielsen, L. Yang and M. Givskov (2013). "Identification of five structurally unrelated quorum-sensing inhibitors of Pseudomonas aeruginosa from a natural-derivative database." Antimicrob Agents Chemother 57(11): 5629-5641.

Book Chapters