Banner image

Government Financial Assistance Schemes

Student Finance Office to take over the work of the former Student Financial Assistance Agency 

With the establishment of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency (WFSFAA) on 1 March 2015, which comprises two arms, namely the Student Finance Office (SFO, renamed from the previous Student Financial Assistance Agency (SFAA)) and the Working Family Allowance Office (WFAO), all duties and responsibilities of the previous Student Financial Assistance Agency (SFAA) are now undertaken by the Student Finance Office (SFO). This website has been updated accordingly to reflect the changes. All references to “Student Financial Assistance Agency” (SFAA), if appear in the website or documents prepared before 1 March 2015, should be taken to refer to the Student Finance Office (SFO) of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency (WFSFAA).

The government’s Student Finance Office (SFO) administers different financial assistance schemes for PolyU’s eligible local students. You may refer to the following table for a general classification of schemes applicable to PolyU programmes* / students** in the academic year of 2018/19. Eligibility of individual student for specific scheme is subject to the Student Finance Office's (SFO) confirmation.

Programme mode

Fund type

Level of study

Government Scheme

Doctor / Master     (1)  TSFS
Degree     (1)  TSFS
    (2)  NLSFT
    (5)  STS
Self-financed student 
(aged ≤30)
Top-up Degree          (3)  FASP
         (4)  NLSPS
         (5)  STS
Self-financed student
(aged >30)
Top-up Degree          (4)  NLSPS
         (5)  STS
Self-financed student Doctor / Master

 (6)  ENLS

Part-time / Mixed Mode*** Programme

 (6)  ENLS

* Only applicable to programmes in Hong Kong.
** If you are HKCC / SPEED students, please approach your college for assistance. 
*** Local students on full-time stream of Master of Educational and Child Psychology (54054-FT) may be eligible for TSFS / NLSFT. Please contact Centre STARS at 2766 5419 for enquiries.
(1) Tertiary Student Finance Scheme – Publicly-funded Programmes (TSFS)

(2) Non-means-tested Loan Scheme for Full-time Tertiary Students (NLSFT)

(3) Financial Assistance Scheme for Post-secondary Students (FASP)

(4) Non-means-tested Loan Scheme for Post-secondary Students (NLSPS)

(5) Student Travel Subsidy (STS)

(6) Extended Non-means-tested Loan Scheme (ENLS) 

General Enquiries

For assistance from the Centre STARS,
please contact:
Room QT308, 3/F (Entrance at Core T)
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


3400 3764


Back to top