School of Optometry 眼科視光學院
Home About Us What's New Subscribe eNewsletter Contact Us My School 繁體 简体 Text Only Print
About us
Message from Head of School
Vision & Mission
Our People
Our Research
The Centre for Myopia Research
Healthy Lifelong Vision
Current Research Facilities
Publications
Research Opportunity
Research Subject Recruitment
Hot Topics in Optometry
Research Projects
About us > Our Research > The Centre for Myopia Research
Our Research

The Centre for Myopia Research

Myopia Epidemic in Hong Kong and South East Asia

Shortsightedness or myopia has assumed epidemic proportions in South East Asia over the past few decades. It is the most prevalent refractive error in Hong Kong. The average prevalence of myopia in Hong Kong people born before 1950 is about 30 % whereas it is about 70% people born between 1950 and 1980. Hong Kong Chinese students have a higher prevalence of myopia regardless of whether they attend in local or international schools when compared with other ethnic groups.

The severity of myopia is also escalating and it is common to find young adults with over 5D of myopia in Hong Kong. Similar figures have been reported in other Asian regions including Singapore, Taiwan and Southern China. Alarmingly, more than 80% of the entire adult population will be myopic within the next 30 years. In addition to the cost of myopic refractive correction, there are myopia-related ocular complications which have raised significant health concerns. High myopia is frequently associated with retinal degeneration, peripheral retinal breaks and glaucoma. These conditions may lead to permanent visual loss and blindness.

There is no clinically accepted method in controlling myopic growth at present. The goal of our myopia research is to find ways to retard and, one day, can cure myopia.

Myopia Research in PolyU

The scale of the myopia problem in Hong Kong was revealed by a number of early epidemiological studies by our research team in the late 1980s and early 1990s. In 1997, the PolyU created The Centre for Myopia Research as one of the Areas of Strategic Development (ASD). With ASD funding, the scope of work has greatly expanded from epidemiological studies to in-depth inquiry into the basic biological mechanisms of myopia. Our Centre is now conducting clinical, genomic and proteomic research using a multi-disciplinary approach, pulling in expertise from all areas of clinical and basic science. In 2007, The Centre for Myopia Research was designated as an Area of Strength of the PolyU.

Orthokeratology (Ortho-k) in Hong Kong

Overnight ortho-k is a treatment for correcting myopia by altering the corneal shape with specially designed, high oxygen permeability rigid gas permeable contact lenses. Patients wear the lenses when they go to sleep and remove them in the morning. When the treatment is completed and stabilized, they will be able to see clearly without the use of any other optical aids in the daytime. The effect is temporary and requires lens wear usually on a nightly basis. In Hong Kong, the majority of ortho-k patients are children wearing their lenses to slow the progression of myopia.

In 2000, our research team conducted a pilot study on ortho-k for myopic control - the LORIC study. The results of the LORIC have attracted extensive attention worldwide as it is the first study reporting the potential use of ortho-k in slowing the progression of myopia in children. Our objective is to promote a safe and effective alternative to the general public, especially to children, for correcting refractive errors and slowing the increase in myopia. The ultimate goal is to prevent the development of high myopia in the population thereby reducing vision loss in our community.

Our current research studies address the factors governing the success of ortho-k and the corneal responses to these specially designed contact lenses. We also want to identify the characteristics of good candidates for ortho-k and to follow the long-term refractive and ocular changes of these patients.

Orthokeratology (Ortho-K) Continuing Education Programme

Proteomic Analysis of Myopia Development in the Animal Model

Proteomics is the study of cellular proteins in a high-throughput manner where thousands of proteins can be profiled, quantified and identified very quickly. The procedure involves a sensitive separation technique that can resolve many cellular proteins simultaneously. It also makes use of the accuracy of mass spectrometry (MS) in quantifying the mass of ionized peptides after a protein is fragmented. Unknown proteins can even be fragmented in such a way that de novo protein sequencing can be carried out. One of the major aims in proteomic research is to understand the biochemical signals that drive myopic growth using animal models. We have studied chick retina and profiled a comprehensive-proteome. Since myopia is believed to be a local process that involves signal transduction within the eye, i.e. from the retina to the sclera, we have attempted to trace these signals during myopia development.

Differential expression of myopic retinal proteins
Differential expression of myopic retinal proteins

Differential in gel electrophresis (DIGE) of chick retinal proteins
Differential in gel electrophoresis (DIGE) of chick retinal proteins

Chick (gallus gallus) retinal 2D proteome map
Chick (gallus gallus) retinal 2D proteome map

Myopia Genomics Study

The myopia genomics study aims to identify human genes that may predispose people to myopia. In turn, this helps to delineate the molecular mechanisms underlying myopia development, and devise new strategies to delay the onset or even prevent the development of myopia in susceptible individuals.

Our research team employs a variety of strategies to identify myopia genes. In terms of study subjects, we recruit families with severely myopic children, and unrelated individuals who are either severely myopic or without myopia. In terms of the study approach, we study individual candidate genes selected based on putative biological functions and related information, and also systematically screen the whole human genome with high-throughput genotyping technologies. We have already identified a number of myopia genes and will continue our efforts to identify more myopia genes and delineate the molecular mechanisms underlying myopia.

Pathophysiology of Myopia Development

It has been demonstrated that retinal neurons are able to differentiate between different types of optical defocus, and thereby initiating compensatory changes in ocular growth. In response to the artificially-induced dioptric blur, it has been shown that ocular growth is regulated by local growth signals or mediators generated in the retina. Subsequently, these signals transfer from the neural retina across the retinal pigment epithelium (RPE) to the targets including choroid and sclera. Recent evidence has shown that myopic and hyperopic defocuses induce thinning and thickening of choroid, respectively. The change in choroidal thickness is one approach to study the major focus of studying the development of refractive errors and myopia. However, the underlying mechanism of this phenomenon is unclear and it may be mediated by the change in fluid transport across the RPE. We have been focused on the contribution of ion and fluid secretion across the RPE in lens deprived eyes using chick as a model.

Astigmatism

In addition to myopia, astigmatism is also a very common refractive error that affects visual quality at all ages. Although it is frequently associated with short- and long-sightednesses, ageing eyes, and eye diseases, the cause of astigmatism is not fully understood. The main research interest is to study the mechanism underlying astigmatism in response to the changes in the visual environment. It is hoped that these studies will shed light on the clinical management of astigmatic errors.

School of Optometry 眼科視光學院
首頁 關於我們 最新消息 訂閱電子通訊 聯絡我們 My School 简体 English 純文字 列印
About
暫任學院主任的話
抱負和使命
教職員
科研
近視研究中心
終身健康視覺
公共衞生研究小組
現有研究設施
科研文章
成為研究生
研究對象招募
熱門科研期刊
科研項目
About > 科研 > 近視研究中心
科研

近視研究中心

香港與東南亞地區近視情況

近數十年,近視在東南亞地區已成為一種極為普遍的眼疾。近視亦是香港人最常見的屈光不正問題。在1950年前出生的香港人中約有30%患有近視,而在1950至1980年間出生的人當中,患有近視的比率則高達70%。調查亦發現,香港華裔學生不論就讀本地或國際學校,均比其他種族的學生較容易患上近視。

近視問題日趨嚴重,香港的青少年患有500度以上近視實屬常見。其他亞洲地區例如新加坡、台灣、南中國地區也有類似情況。最令人憂慮的是,未來30年將有超過80%成年人口患上近視。除了矯正近視所帶來的開支外,近視引致的潛在眼睛健康問題亦備受公眾關注。高度近視容易引致視網膜退化、周邊視網膜破裂和青光眼,這些情況可能導致永久視覺受損和失明。

目前為止,還沒有一個獲臨床認可的近視控制方法。我們研究的目標是找出控制近視的方法,希望最終能治療近視。

香港理工大學的近視研究發展

於80年代末、90年代初,我們的研究小組在早期的流行病研究,已顯示香港近視問題的情況。在1997年,香港理工大學成立了近視研究中心,並成為理大其中一個策略性學術發展領域。藉著策略性學術發展領域計劃的資助,研究範疇從流行病學擴展至更深入的基本生物及近視發展機制。現時中心透過不同範疇的臨床科學家和基本科學專家合作,以跨學科方法進行臨床、遺傳基因和蛋白質體學研究。在2007年,近視研究中心更被選定為香港理工大學的學術強項領域。

香港的角膜矯形術研究

夜間角膜矯形術是透過佩戴特製的高透氧硬性隱形眼鏡片,逐漸改變角膜弧度,藉此矯正近視。佩戴者在睡覺時佩戴矯視鏡片至翌日早上。當治療完成和效果穩定後,佩戴者在日間便無需佩戴眼鏡或隱形眼鏡,就能清楚看到影像。角膜矯形術的效果是暫時性的,故佩戴者還需每晚佩戴矯視鏡片。在香港,大部分佩戴者均是小童,目的是為了減慢近視加深的速度。

在2000年,我們的研究小組就角膜矯形術控制近視方面,作了一項試點研究,簡稱「LORIC」。LORIC的研究結果引起了全球極大的關注,因為這是世界首個有關使用角膜矯形術減慢兒童近視加深的研究。我們的研究目的旨在向公眾,尤其是兒童,提供一種既安全又有效的方法,以矯正屈光不正和減慢近視加深。我們的最終目標是避免高度近視人口繼續增加,從而減低市民視覺受損的機會。

最近的研究找出了令角膜矯形術成功的因素,以及角膜對矯視鏡的反應。我們希望能辨別出對使用角膜矯形術有良好效果的人士的特徵,並會長期跟進他們的屈光度數和眼睛變化。

角膜矯形術持續專業發展課程  

利用動物模型作近視發展的蛋白質體學分析

蛋白質體學是以高效能方法研究細胞蛋白質,可快速地描繪、量化和識別數以千計的蛋白質。過程中,利用高敏感度的分離技術,於同一時間分解很多細胞蛋白質。此外,利用質譜儀的準確性,量度蛋白質分解後的離子化縮氨酸。未確認的蛋白質亦會被分解,並以蛋白質序列。蛋白質體研究其中一個主要的目的,是利用動物模型去剖析生化訊息如何導致近視產生。我們研究小鷄的視網膜並記錄其蛋白質體作參考。由於相信近視的發展是基於眼球內局部訊息轉導(由視網膜到鞏膜),因此我們嘗試追蹤近視發展時所產生的生埋訊息。

Differential expression of myopic retinal proteins 
 近視視網膜蛋白質差異表現分辨圖     

 

 Differential in gel electrophresis (DIGE) of chick retinal proteins
 小雞視網“螢光差異蛋白表現分析 (DIGE)” 凝膠電泳分辨圖


 

 
 
 Chick (gallus gallus) retinal 2D proteome map
 小雞(公紅原雞)視網膜二維蛋白質圖

近視遺傳學研究

近視遺傳學研究目的是識別容易令人類患上近視的遺傳基因,以幫助描述近視發展時的分子機制,並設計新的策略延遲,甚至避免容易受這些基因影響的人士患上近視。

我們採用多種方法識別近視基因。在研究對象方面,我們邀請患有嚴重近視的兒童家庭,和一些沒有血緣關係又患有嚴重近視或沒有近視的人士。在理論方面,我們根據推論生物學和相關資料,研究每個對象的基因,並使用高效能基因定型分析科技,有系統地篩選人體基因。我們已成功識別出一定數量的近視基因,並會繼續努力找出更多近視基因,描繪出形成近視的分子機制。

近視發展的病理生理學

研究顯示,視網膜神經細胞可以區分不同的光學散焦,故引致眼睛成長時出現補償性的改變。藉著人工造成的屈光不正情況作測試,顯示了眼睛的成長是受到眼睛內部成長信號或視網膜所產生的傳遞信息而作出調整。視力糢糊的信息會由視網膜經色素上皮層,傳到脈絡膜和鞏膜。最近研究顯示,近視和遠視離焦分別會使脈絡膜變厚和變簿。脈絡膜的厚度是研究屈光不正和近視的重點。不過,這機制仍有待進一步研究,因為視網膜色素上皮層的液體傳送亦有可能改變脈絡膜的厚度。我們利用患有屈光不正的小雞作研究,集中研究離子和液體分泌,經過視網膜色素上皮層的影響。

散光

除了近視外,散光亦是常見影響不同年齡人士的屈光不正問題。雖然散光通常隨著近視、遠視、眼睛退化及眼疾出現,但它的成因仍有待研究。我們主要研究散光對視覺環境轉變的反應機制,期望該研究可幫助臨床處理散光的問題。