D12. Student Discipline Committee

學生紀律委員會

Terms of Reference

- 1. To adjudicate and make decisions on behalf of the President on cases concerning the conduct and discipline of students, these decisions being final within the University.
- 2. To provide Departments with guidelines on how disciplinary cases should be dealt with.
- 3. To receive for record purposes student disciplinary decision made by Departments.
- 4. To submit an annual report to DP covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1st July to 30th June.

Composition

Chairman : A senior member of staff, appointed by DP

Prof. Daniel S.P. LAU, Head(AP) & Chair Prof. of Nanomaterials (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2026)

Members : One Faculty Dean/School Board Chairman/Chair Professor, appointed by DP

Prof. Sylvia CHEN, Assoc. Dean(HSS) & Chair Prof. of Social and Cultural Psychology

(1 Nov 2024 - 31 Oct 2026)

Ir Prof. C.S. POON, Head(CEE) & Chair Prof. of Sustainable Construction Materials

(1 Jul 2023 – 30 Jun 2025) (Alternate Member)

Dean of Students

Ir Prof. Horace MUI Kwok-wai, Prof.(BEEE) (Interim Dean)

One Head/Assoc. Head of an academic department, appointed by DP

Prof. TANG Chak-yin, Assoc. Head & Prof.(ISE) (1 Jul 2023 – 30 Jun 2025)

Prof. Michael T.C. YING, Assoc. Head & Prof.(HTI) (1 Jul 2023 – 30 Jun 2025) (Alternate Member)

One academic staff (non-head), appointed by DP

Prof. Sylvia LIU, Asst Dean & Assoc. Prof.(SD) (1 Jul 2023 – 30 Jun 2025)

Prof. Yangyang FAN, Assoc. Prof.(AF) (1 Jul 2024 – 30 Jun 2026) (Alternate Member)

Registrar

Mr Edward SHEN

One member from a panel of full-time undergraduate/sub-degree* students elected to serve on Senate and Faculty/School Boards, appointed by the Chairman on a rotating basis

Mr CHAN Chak Shun (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Ms CHAN Hei Tung Manis (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Ms GUO Zhimeng (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Mr HO Cheuk Fung Felix (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Mr LAI Lik Man (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Ms LAM King Man (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Mr NG Ching Fung (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)
Ms WONG Hoi Ning (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)

One member from a panel of full-time taught/research postgraduate students elected to serve on Senate and Faculty/School Boards, appointed by the Chairman on a rotating basis

Mr CHIRIKO Amare Yaekob (1 Nov 2024 – 31 Oct 2025)

Secretary : A member of staff from the Academic Registry, appointed by the Registrar

Ms Carol HUEN, Academic Services Manager

Effective from: 16 January 2025

* Reference to "sub-degree" will be removed upon the phasing-out of all sub-degree programmes.