## C5. Global Engagement Committee

環球事務委員會

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To lead the development and implementation of policies and strategies to support the achievement of global excellence and reputation in research, education and partnership.
- 2. To lead and coordinate the implementation of the University's global engagement endeavours in educational initiatives.
- 3. To establish working groups as required in specific areas of the Committee's remit.
- 4. To consider any other matters referred to the Committee by the President.
- 5. To submit an annual report to the President covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1<sup>st</sup> July to 30<sup>th</sup> June.

## **Composition**

Chairman: Vice President (Student and Global Affairs)

Ir Prof. Ben Young

Members: Vice President (Education) / Associate Vice President (Undergraduate Programme)

Prof. Daniel T. L. Shek, AVP(UP) & Dean(US)

Associate Vice President (Global Partnerships)

Prof. Geoffrey Q. P. Shen, AVP(GP) & DoGE

Registrar

Mr Edward Shen

Four Faculty/School Deans, appointed by the Vice President (Student and Global Affairs)

Prof. Raymond Wai-yeung Wong, Dean(FS) Prof. Xiang-dong Li, Dean(CE) Prof. Erin Cho, Dean(SFT) Prof. Kun-pyo Lee, Dean(SD)

Dean of Students

Prof. Albert Chan

Dean of Graduate School

Prof. Jiannong Cao

Two senior academic staff members, appointed by the Vice President (Student and Global Affairs)

Prof. Eric Chiu Wing-hong, Head(APSS) Prof. Xinpeng Xu, Prof.(AF)

Director of Institutional Planning and Analytics

Ms Karen Jiang

Director of Communications and Public Affairs

Ms Priscilla Hung

Director of Mainland Development

Prof. Lu Haitian

Secretary: A member of staff from the Global Engagement Office (GEO), appointed by the Director of Global Engagement

Ms Miranda Choy, Senior Manager, GEO

## **Terms of Appointment**

Except the Chairman, all members are appointed on two-year terms. Representatives from Faculties or Schools will serve on a rotational basis. However, in order to ensure continuity, half of the current representatives from Faculties or Schools will serve an additional term, while the remaining half will retire from the Committee.

November 2024