## D3. Areas of Excellence Committee 卓越學術領域委員會

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To advise the Deputy President and Provost (DP) on all matters relating to the development of Areas of Excellence (AoEs) and Research Institutes (RIs) in the University.
- 2. To develop and continually review strategies for the promotion and development of AoEs and RIs.
- 3. To monitor progress and to develop appropriate mechanisms for the review and monitoring of AoEs and RIs.
- 4. To consider applications for research endeavours and funding schemes administered by the Committee from Faculties/Schools and Departments, and approve funding allocations, as appropriate.
- 5. To advise the DP on research funding schemes administered by the Committee and to regularly monitor the progress of these endeavours and funding schemes.
- 6. To prepare reports required from the UGC or other external agencies relating to the activities administered by the Committee for submission by the President or his nominee.

## **Composition**

Chairman:	Deputy President and Provost (as appointed by the President) or a senior academic staff member (as appointed by the DP)
	Professor Wing-tak WONG, DP
Members:	Executive Vice President or her delegate
	Ms Hilda LING, Associate DoF
	Vice President (Education)
	Professor Kwok-yin WONG
	Vice President (Research and Innovation) Professor Christopher CHAO

Up to six other members, including external members, appointed by the DP

Professor Qingyan CHEN, DoPAIR (1 Sept 2021 to 31 Aug 2025)
Professor Edwin CHENG, Dean(FB) (1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2025)
Professor Guangwei HU, Associate Dean(FH) (1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2026)
Professor H. C. MAN, Dean(ENG) (1 Sept 2022 to 31 Aug 2026)
Professor Wai-yeung Raymond WONG, Dean(FS) (1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2025)
Professor Jin-Guang TENG, President (1 Dec 2020 to 30 Nov 2024)

Secretary: A member of staff from the Research and Innovation Office appointed by the Director of Research and Innovation

Ms Doris FUNG, Assistant Director

July 2024