Dean's Message

Faculty of Humanities (FH) of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University is one of the youngest faculties of humanities in Hong Kong and full of energy in creating synergies among language, culture, and science in education and research.

In line with the role and mission of our University, our Faculty is an application-oriented faculty in the broader sense of the term. It is one place for the student to learn and to develop, for the teacher to transmit knowledge and to contribute to scholarship. It is where you find people learn to care about people and serve society.

Our efforts are fast gaining international recognition. We are ranked 106th in the world, and 20th in Asia 1 .The subjects of Linguistics and History are among the top of universities in Hong Kong 2 . In Linguistics, we are also ranked 34th in the world 3.

The Faculty is also recognised internationally through our strong academic links. We have established joint research centres with Peking University, Tsinghua University, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Zhejiang University and University of Technology, Sydney, as well as exchange programmes with other leading universities in the world. In 2010 and 2011, we have been consecutively granted by the European Commission the first Erasmus Mundus mobility programme in Hong Kong for academic exchange between European higher education institutions with those from the South East Asia countries.

Gaining strength in areas such as speech therapy and health communication, FH is emerging as a leader in tertiary education in the fields of applied language sciences and bilingual China studies in Asia Pacific and the world. Our programmes equip students with knowledge and practical application abilities essential in a wide range of professions.

In addition to students studying in FH programmes, the Faculty also serves all PolyU students taking language and general education subjects. All five units in the Faculty work to help our students to enhance their language competence in both English and Chinese, and to develop skills in extensive reading, writing and critical thinking. The Confucius Institute of Hong Kong under the Faculty also offers a wide range of scholarly and cultural activities.



1 By regional filtering of Quacquarelli Symonds World University Rankings by Faculty 2017.

2 According to the result of the latest Research Assessment Exercise (RAE) 2014 conducted by the University Grants Council, 45% and 60% of our research in Linguistics & language studies and History respectively is judged to meet the standard of either world-leading (4-star) or internationally excellent (3-star).

3 According to Quacquarelli Symonds World University Rankings by subject 2017.

Professor CHU Hung-lam
    Professor CHU Hung-lam
    Dean, Faculty of Humanities
Back to top

院長的話

作為香港各大學間最「年輕」的人文學院之一,本院朝氣勃發,在教育和研究兩方面,均以語言、文化與科學薈萃之處自許。

秉承香港理工大學的使命,理大人文學院從廣義上說是一所以應用為本的學院。它不但是供學生學習的地方,也是供老師傳遞知識和貢獻學術的地方。在人文學院裡,你會找到學習關心人和服務社會的人們。

我們的努力迅速得到國際認可,學院躋身全球106位,並位列亞洲第20位 1 。學院的語言學及歷史學學科表現尤其出色,是本港的領先學院之一 2 。而語言學更位列全球第34位 3

同時,學院與多所海內外大學緊密聯繫。學院分別與北京大學、清華大學、西安交通大學、浙江大學及悉尼科技大學成立研究中心,並與多所其他國際頂尖大學合作舉辦交流計劃。我們於2010及2011連續兩年獲得歐盟「 伊拉斯謨世界之窗 」在港首度的撥款,與歐洲及東南亞地區的大學開展學術交流項目。

隨著學院在言語治療及醫療傳意等範疇發展,我們將成為亞太地區甚至全球應用語言科學及雙語中國研究的卓越學府。我們的課程著重裝備學生必要的知識與實踐能力,使其能在不同的專業中將所學到的知識廣泛應用。

除了修讀人文學院課程的學生外,學院也為全校學生提供語文及通識科目。學院五個單位共同努力,務求提升學生中英雙語的能力,同時培養他們廣泛閱讀、寫作及批判性思維的技巧。在學院之下, 香港孔子學院 提供一系列相輔相成的學術及文化活動。



1 按 Quacquarelli Symonds 2017世界大學學院排行榜亞洲地區篩選結果。

2 根據最近大學教育資助委員會公布的「2014年研究評審工作」結果,本院的語言學及歷史學學科研究表現卓越,分別有45% 及60% 的研究被評為達世界領先(4星)或國際卓越水平(3星)。

3 根據 Quacquarelli Symonds 公布的「2017年度世界大學科目排行榜」。

朱鴻林教授
    朱鴻林教授
    人文學院院長
返回頁頂